Colorado State University | Western Center for Metropolitan Extension & Research | Washington State University Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Colorado State University

Colorado skylineFor more information, please visit the Colorado State University Extension website.

Metropolitan Areas in Colorado (definition of metropolitan) with links to the local Cooperative Extension office:

MSA = Metropolitan Statistical Area
(#) = Rural-Urban Continuum Code


Greater than 1 million population (1)

MSA: Denver – Aurora – Lakewood

Principal Cities: Aurora, Broomfield, Denver, Lakewood
MSA Counties: Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Elbert, Gilpin, Jefferson, Park


250,000 to 1 million population (2)

MSA: Boulder

Principal Cities: Boulder
MSA Counties: Boulder

MSA: Colorado Springs

Principal Cities: Colorado Springs
MSA Counties: El Paso, Teller

MSA: Fort Collins

Principal Cities: Fort Collins
MSA Counties: Larimer

MSA: Greeley

Principal Cities: Greeley
MSA Counties: Weld


Fewer than 250,000 population (3)

MSA: Grand Junction

Principal Cities: Grand Junction
MSA Counties: Mesa

MSA: Pueblo

Principal Cities: Pueblo
MSA Counties: Pueblo