Skip to main content Skip to navigation

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Alaska city skyline with mountains, overlaid with the Logo: Cooperative Extension Service University of Alaska Fairbanks

For more information, please visit the University of Alaska Fairbanks Cooperative Extension Service website.

Metropolitan Areas in Alaska (definition of metropolitan) with links to the local Cooperative Extension office:

MSA = Metropolitan Statistical Area
(#) = Rural-Urban Continuum Code


250,000 to 1 million population (2)

MSA: Anchorage

Principal Cities: Anchorage
MSA Counties: Anchorage Municipality, Matanuska-Susitna Borough


Fewer than 250,000 population (3)

MSA: Fairbanks

Principal Cities: Fairbanks
MSA Counties: Fairbanks North Star Borough