Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Michigan State University

MSU campus with logo

For More information please visit the Michigan State University Extension Service website.

Metropolitan Areas in Michigan (definitions of metropolitan) with links to the local Cooperative Extension office:

MSA = Metropolitan Statistical Area
(#) = Rural-Urban Continuum Code


Greater than 1 million population (1)

MSA: Detroit-Warren-Dearborn

Principal Cities: Detroit, Warren, Dearborn
MSA Counties: Wayne County, Lapeer County, Livingston County, Macomb County, Oakland County, St. Clair County

250,000 to 1 million population (4)

MSA: Ann Arbor

Principal Cities: Ann Arbor
MSA Counties: Washtenaw County

MSA: Flint

Principal Cities: Flint
MSA Counties: Genessee County

MSA: Grand Rapids

Principal Cities: Grand Rapids
MSA Counties: Ionia County, Kent County, Montcalm County, Ottawa County, Muskegon County

MSA: Lansing-East Lansing

Principal Cities: East Lansing, Lansing
MSA Counties: Clinton County, Eaton County, Ingham County, Shiawassee County

Fewer than 250,000 population (10)

MSA: Battle Creek

Principal Cities: Battle Creek
MSA Counties: Calhoun County

MSA: Bay City

Principal Cities: Bay City
MSA Counties: Bay County

MSA: Jackson

Principal Cities: Jackson
MSA Counties: Jackson County

MSA: Kalamazoo-Portage

Principal Cities: Kalamazoo, Portage
MSA Counties: Kalamazoo County

MSA: Midland

Principal Cities: Midland
MSA Counties: Midland County

MSA: Monroe

Principal Cities: Monroe
MSA Counties: Monroe County

MSA: Muskegon

Principal Cities: Muskegon
MSA Counties: Muskegon County

MSA: Niles

Principal Cities: Niles
MSA Counties: Berrien County

MSA: Saginaw

Principal Cities: Saginaw
MSA Counties: Saginaw County

MSA: South Bend – Mishawaka

Principal Cities: South Bend, Mishawaka
MSA Counties: Cass County