Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Oregon State University

Oregon Skyline with bridge and waterFor More information please visit the Oregon State University Extension Service website.

Metropolitan Areas in Oregon (definitions of metropolitan) with links to the local Cooperative Extension office:

MSA = Metropolitan Statistical Area
(#) = Rural-Urban Continuum Code


Greater than 1 million population (1)

MSA: Portland – Vancouver – Hillsboro OR/WA

Principal Cities: Beaverton, Hillsboro, Portland
MSA Counties: Clackamas, Columbia, Multnomah, Washington, Yamhill


250,000 to 1 million population (2)

MSA: Eugene

Principal Cities: Eugene
MSA Counties: Lane

MSA: Salem

Principal Cities: Salem
MSA Counties: Marion, Polk


Fewer than 250,000 population (3)

MSA: Albany

Principal Cities: Albany
MSA Counties: Linn

MSA: Bend-Redmond

Principal Cities: Bend, Redmond
MSA Counties: Deschutes

MSA: Corvallis

Principal Cities: Corvallis
MSA Counties: Benton

MSA: Grants Pass

Principal Cities: Grants Pass
MSA Counties: Josephine

MSA: Medford

Principal Cities: Medford
MSA Counties: Jackson

oregon2013 cbsa map