Skip to main content Skip to navigation

University of Idaho

Idaho skyline at nightFor more information, please visit the University of Idaho Extension website.

Metropolitan Areas in Idaho (definition of metropolitan) with links to the local Cooperative Extension office:

MSA = Metropolitan Statistical Area
(#) = Rural-Urban Continuum Code


250,000 to 1 million population (2)

MSA: Boise City

Principal Cities: Boise City
MSA Counties: Ada, Boise, Canyon, Gem, Owyhee


Fewer than 250,000 population (3)

MSA: Coeur d’Alene

Principal Cities: Coeur d’Alene
MSA Counties: Kootenai

MSA: Idaho Falls

Principal Cities: Idaho Falls
MSA Counties: Bonneville, Jefferson

MSA: Lewiston ID/WA

Principal Cities: Lewiston
MSA Counties: Nez Perce

MSA: Pocatello

Principal Cities: Pocatello
MSA Counties: Bannock