Skip to main content Skip to navigation

WCMER Fellows

WCMER Fellows lead WCMER’s Deep Dives, established  to spur innovation within Extension, address complex issues facing metropolitan areas, and support the organizational needs of urban Extension programs, while providing opportunities for faculty at WCMER member institutions to lead multi-state or national projects. Each WCMER Deep Dive is led by a funded WCMER Fellow, a subject matter expert from a member institution, who provides leadership to:

  • Assess the current state of the issue – the current knowledge base and the need and opportunities within metropolitan communities; and build a collaborative network of other professionals working in an area.
  • Identify and pursue funding opportunities; and help advance the knowledge base of other Extension professionals. Deep Dives may continue from one fellow to the next as work continues.

We invite you to review the work of our current and past WCMER Deep Dive Fellows. Applications are now being accepted for new Deep Dive Fellows. Due July 31.

Current Fellows

Nigel Pickering, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
Washington State University
Phone: (509) 335-8624
Email: nigel.pickering@wsu.edu

 

Jeantyl Norze, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
University of Nevada Reno
Phone: (702)-257-5527
Email: jnorze@unr.edu
Tyler Augst, MS
Research Fellow
Michigan State University
Phone: (269) 436-0520
Email: augsttyl@msu.edu
Dave Ivan Michigan Profile PicDavid Ivan, Ph.D.
Advisory Board, Research Fellow
Michigan State University
Phone: (517) 432-7602
Email: ivand@msu.edu

Past Fellows

Julie Fox HeadshotJulie M. Fox, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
Ohio State University
Phone: (740) 289-2071 x 225
Email: fox.264@osu.edu

 

 

Patricia TownsendPatricia Townsend, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
Washington State University
Phone: (425) 357-6020
Email: patricia.townsend@wsu.edu

 

 

Rebecca Sero HeadshotRebecca Sero, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
Washington State University
Phone: (509) 358-7879
Email: r.sero@wsu.edu

 

 

Marie Ruemenapp HeadshotMarie Ruemenapp, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
Michigan State University
Phone: (248) 313-9217
Email: ruemenap@msu.edu