Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Ohio State University

Ohio State University Skyline

For more information, please visit the Ohio State University website.

Metropolitan Areas in Ohio (definition of metropolitan) with links to the local Cooperative Extension office:

MSA = Metropolitan Statistical Area
(#) = Rural-Urban Continuum Code

Greater than 1 million population (2)

MSA: Cleveland – Elyra

Principal Cities: Cleveland-Elyra
MSA Counties: Cuyahoga County, Geauga County, Lake County, Lorain County, Medina County

MSA: Columbus

Principal Cities: Columbus
MSA Counties: Delaware County, Fairfield County, Franklin County, Hocking County, Licking County, Madison County, Morrow County, Perry County, Pickaway County, Union County

250,000 to 1 million population (4)

MSA: Akron – Canton

Principal Cities: Akron, Canton
MSA Counties: Portage County, Summit County

MSA: Dayton – Kettering

Principal Cities: Dayton, Kettering
MSA Counties: Green County, Miami County, Montgomery County

MSA: Toledo

Principal Cities: Toledo
MSA Counties: Fulton County, Lucas County Ottawa County, Wood County

MSA: Youngstown-Warren-Boardman

Principal Cities: Youngstown, Warren, Boardman
MSA Counties: Mahoning County, Trumbull County

Fewer than 250,000 population (4)

MSA: Lima

Principal Cities: Lima
MSA Counties: Allen County

MSA: Mansfield

Principal Cities: Mansfield
MSA Counties: Richland County

MSA: Springfield

Principal Cities:
MSA Counties: Clark County

MSA: Weirton-Steubenville

Principal Cities: Weirton, Steubenville
MSA Counties: Jefferson County